Lo, how a rose e'er blooming

it came, a floweret, bright, amid the cold of winter

What a shock to be up before 8 and look out to SNOW!

Despite the snow and the cold it was a morning of singing - 3 and a half hours! Unfortunately illness meant there were only 3 sopranos. My sight singing is not up to this - but we struggled through. I hadn't put my phone off and M called just before 11 - thank goodness it was on silent - I don't think 'Oh no it's D calling' sounding through the church would have added to the reverent atmosphere. (Actually, in relation to this venue, 'geriatric atmosphere' is more accurate and I speak as someone who is nearly in their 7th decade, and still one of the younger ones!)

Christmas lunch was excellent and it was good mum was able to come too.

So home to continue moving stuff around, emptying boxes and generally getting things sorted. Slight digression as I went to the back green (mud, slush, snow) to heel in the Cocker's roses and ended up just planting them. Despite the snow we've had no hard frost so they should be ok.

I did take time to blip this snow rose, probably the last rosebud of 2011. I blipped another one of the roses of this bush here at the end of July.

Then back to clear out the back room and empty boxes in my room and guess what, I found the mislaid red dress! NOT in the box room, but under the bookcase in the back bedroom - clearly I'm losing my marbles!

The promised call from M at 6 didn't come ( now there's a surprise) but I did speak to Y and H, good friends.

So definitely progress - boxes emptied, carpets vacuumed, still a lot of stuff to find a home for but it's beginning to look like a home again.

And tomorrow - a big day. Well Monday, and a new start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.