No Static

By nostatic

#9 Tassili - Tinariwen

Album: Tassili
Artist: Tinariwen

One line synopsis: Stripped back desert blues, from world music legends. Quieter and more introspective than previous releases.

Best Track: Ya Messinagh

---------------------------------

I don't have a huge knowledge of world music, but since seeing Tinariwen perform on Jools Holland and at Glastonbury I've been hooked on their riff driven, slightly hypnotic style of music. If you're a fan of the Ethiopiques compilations then Tinariwen, for me, match a similar mood.

---------------------------------

Notes on the top 10:
* Yes I am sad enough to do a top 10 every year
* All albums must have been released this year
* I must own the physical copy of each of them
* I'm fairly sure there are other albums out there that would make this list had I got round to buying them - Grouper, Nils Frahm and Oneohtrix Point Never spring to mind
* full countdown tagged nstop102011

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.