#9 Quarter Turns Over a Living Line - Raime

Album: Quarter Turns Over a Living Line
Artist: Raime

One line synopsis: Dark, rumbling, clanking post-punk infused techno

Best Track: Your Cast Will Tire

---------------------------------

I've only just purchased this album, but it's immediately grabbed me and with a bit more listening time could easily have sneaked higher. It reflects a slight twist in my listening tastes throughout the year, prompted both by mood and listening habits. What stands out for me on this release, as opposed to their earlier work, is the use of live instrumentation; when the strings creep in, they're dense and foreboding; when fragments of melody pass by the lightness is hidden in the rubble.

I'm thinking it's possible record sleeve of the year as well.

---------------------------------

Notes on the top 10:
* Yes I am sad enough to do a top 10 every year
* All albums must have been released this year
* I must own the physical copy of each of them
* I'm fairly sure there are other albums out there that would make this list had I got round to buying them - Grizzly Bear, Andy Stott and Scott Walker spring to mind
* full countdown tagged nstop102012
* click through to see last year's top 10

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.