They've painted the road

Those of you who remember my blips from February 2010 will know that I wrote about the tragedy when the rivers swept huge quantities of debris into the centre of Funchal, Madeira and there was significant loss of life.

It was a horrendous time for the islanders and those of us who were here when it happened will never forget.

The mud and rubble swept through the town and caused huge damage to the Old Town.

I was very upset that the media didn't give any publicity to the fact that the locals got things back up and running within a couple of days and holidaymakers were scarcely affected after the initial crisis. The Madeiran spirit meant that water pipes were fixed, everywhere was soon spotlessly clean and it was business as usual.

My sister in law told me that they had "painted" the streets in the Old Town but that had not prepared me for what I saw with wonder this afternoon.

The Madeiran Art and Culture has meant a magnificent and vibrant street, with murals of exceptional quality, outlining Madeiran culture and creativity. I was awash with Blips today !

I chose this doorway art which looks SO real - the girl, camera in hand, (a Blipper perhaps).

But I could have gone for

The colourful mural of the Fort

or the one which celebrates Maritimo, one of the two Madeiran football teams, (also called The Lions)

The doorway to football success

And Maritimo are playing Benfica at home on Saturday - a keenly fought match as they met in the cup last week and it's the league this time. We might just go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.