The way I see it.

By christinePears

My First Garden

Well it was blowing a hoolie outside today so I did not go for a lunchtime walk. We seemed to escape the worst of the storm but it was still pretty wild. So I have settled for an emergency blip - anything I photograph inside is an e.b. as I much prefer taking outdoor shots!

This picture is one of my most treasured possessions. When I emigrated to USA 6 years ago I took it in my suitcase by carefully taking it off it's frame, rolling up the canvas, and by taking the frame apart it fitted in as well. It was painted by my sister the same year she died (1976) and it is her impression of the first garden that I ever created. Our Dad had a large 1/2 acre garden inside a high wall at the back of the house but he was always a bit concerned about us meddling in it. Gardening was in my blood and so I wanted a place where I could give free reign to my creativity! I started turning over a piece of waste ground outside the big walled garden and would sneak into his well manicured garden and steal little bits of plants for my wild area. I even dug some of the daisies out of his lawn as I thought that they deserved a chance to flourish! The funny thing was that my garden was on full display to everyone who drove up to the house (and much admired) but his was hidden behind the big wall! He did open his to the public once a year and it in turn was greatly admired in all it's splendour. My Dad taught me many things but one that has stayed with me throughout my life is the love of gardening.

I have lived in 6 different houses in the last 8 years but my garden picture has always had pride of place in my living room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.