Diary Of A Sinner

By ArchieDog

New Home - Day Ten

My name is Archie and I am a sinner.

The snow came back today. Thicker, heavier and much colder.
It was another day for snuggling up with the stove going full pelt.

Nippy Wee Wifie left me to my own devices and visited the horses - alone - this morning.
No walk in the woods with Border2.
Instead I got to romp about in the snow in the field beside the cottage when she came back.

Evening time found us setting out in the snow. But we weren't off to the horses.
Instead we drove into the village where the villagers had put up the Christmas tree and lights.
And then we kept going - up the hill, out of the village and onto the moor.

I wondered what was going on.
Was she serious. Driving in the snow - at night, on the high moor, in a MICRA, with the petrol guage flashing empty.
The woman is mad.
I mean, seriously mad. She was trying to find the moon.

Eh, reality check - the sky is covered in clouds.

Undaunted, she tootled along between the banks of snow, pausing periodically to scan the sky for hints of moonlight.

The lunar eclipse that she was searching for was nowhere to be seen.

After a while we arrived at another village and she stopped at a petrol station to fill up. I stayed in the car, barking at anyone who dared to come close.

On the way back over the moor the clouds parted just long enough to show a brief, bright moon. Eclipse over.
So that was that then.

We stopped at the end of the track to the stables. After that it was on foot, the track being too deep with ice to drive on.
I was heaved over all the gates and then she climbed over - extra carefully this time as she was carrying her big camera.

NWW brought all the horses in, sorted rugs and fed them all. It was quiet, and peaceful up there on our own. The moon was making brief appearances from behind the clouds, lighting up the frozen landscape.
It was very pretty. Pretty enough to stop on the track and take a couple of pictures.

Now, I'm just a dog but even I knew that she should have used a tripod for the long exposures she was taking. Undaunted, she rested the camera on a fence post and snapped away.
Whatever makes her happy.

So, today there's no picture of me.
Instead, this is the view she took.
This is what I see at night time when we go to put the horses into their stables.

And I'm loving it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.