Diary Of A Sinner

By ArchieDog

New Home - Day Nine

My name is Archie and I am a sinner.

Well, it was a kinda quiet day for me today.

No stable duties - so no hanging out with my Border Terrier friends.
Instead I had plenty of lessons of "lie quietly in the box".

Nippy Wee Wifie is preparing me for when she has to go back to work and leave me alone to my own devices.
I guess she has a point. There's no sense in giving me 24/7 attention for a couple of weeks and then expecting me to understand why she isn't around any more when she has to be at work.
I have to get used to her not always being here.
And so, today was spent largely being ignored.

Ach, she wasn't too heartless I guess. She would pop downstairs periodically and give me some attention - but it always ended up with the "back in the box" game.
I'm getting really good at it too - primarily because I get all my feed in the crate.

I wasn't too sure about being "crate trained" when NWW first suggested it.
But now - well the crate is a nice thing, it's where good things happen - like food, and praise, and getting to relax.

It could be a lot worse I suppose. I've heard that a lot of dogs get put in their crates as punishment. I wouldn't like that - I would never get out. NWW takes care to make sure that the crate is a happy place for me.

So, today I knuckled down, toughed it out and contented myself with a quiet day.

She'll make it up to me I'm sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.