Rags of light

By CarolG1

Do you have a pirate memory game?

Our final day in Montpellier. There was an amazing toy shop at the end of the street near our hotel. It sold every toy you could imagine, all crammed together in a series of tiny rooms with their own themes - magic, robots, puppets, tin soldiers. It brought out the child in me and I could have spent hours in there.

This was my favourite item. It reminded me of a sketch in Little Britain where David Walliams plays a very odd customer who goes to Matt Lucas's rather dusty old shop. He says he wants to buy a pirate memory game. After much searching, and suggestion of unsatisfactory alternatives, the shopkeeper has to admit he doesn't have one, at which point David Walliams says 'that's OK, I'll wait' and stands there in brooding silence. I think this could well be the game he was after. If only he'd gone to Montpellier...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.