Christmas Deco2

For the second in this short series I have chosen a 30cm high ceramic Christmas tree which is illuminated from the inside with a small electric bulb. My reason for blipping this is that it was made by a very dear friend of mine with whom I worked closely as members of the committee of the Wicklow Art and Craft Guild some years ago. Most of his work was hand thrown and unique pottery pieces but he made these trees from a mould. This is the last one he had and it was due to be destroyed as it is slightly imperfect but I liked it so much that I persuaded him to part with it. I in turn wouldn't part with it for anything.

I had great fun trying to shoot this. The light had to be low in order to show the effect of the lighting"candles" but bright enough to show some detail in the tree. A tricky balancing act which took me the best part of an hour to work out.

Off to visit a friend this evening to watch my beloved Shamrock Rovers take on Tottenham Hotspur in the Europa League soccer tournament on his big plasma TV. I expect a defeat against superior class but let's hope for a respectable show. See you all later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.