dp

By dp

New Toy

Well the box yesterday contained a new Nikon D300 body - a bargain price from Dixons Tax Free that was impossible to ignore (that's my excuse and I'm sticking with it).

So firstly a massive thank you to Blipfoto and Joe who have made this possible in a roundabout way - by firstly making me reinvigorate this hobby of mine with new passion and zeal, and secondly a link on Joe's about me sent me to a certain stock photo agency which accepted some photos, five sales of which (this one twice!) have paid for a large chunk of the new beast (plus sales of my boyhood model railway collection - seems apt to sell childhood toys to make way for an adult one!). So thanks Joe!

First impressions? Amazing build quality, like a tank. Only snapped away in the garden so far (see bird!) but it's quick, responsive and sharp, and the image quality appears to be excellent. The number of features to be discovered is endless and it will take some time to get used to, but hey, I think that'll be fun.

The D50 is going to have a rest and just be used with my 60mm macro lens - the poor thing has taken over 25,000 pictures since 2006 (most of which were probably in India last year), so I think it's deserved it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.