Old and new

Christmas day has been lovely this year. We all managed to get up at a sensible time and James didn't have to wait to open his presents!

He is happy with his lot - in fact so happy, we have barely seen him all day - he has been locked in his bedroom playing xbox games. Tomorrow I suspect he will be testing out his video camera - his BEST present, because it's a video camera, and because it was from Corin :-)

Corin got me a light meter - a new one but also found me a vintage version, seen here, set against the pdf version of the manual found on my new toy (Christmas present to myself) - the iPad!

We have done some searching around on the internet - it appears that the light meter pre-dates the 1960's. It's in absolutely mint condition and it works as well. Bloody brilliant.

As daft as it seems, it's one of the best presents I have ever had - it's unusual and has sent me off on a little magical mystery tour trying to find out about it, how it works and it's history. I love 'old skool' stuff. More importantly, it was completely unexpected and showed some thought about me and my interests.

So thank you Corin. A very thoughtful set of gifts today ...for all concerned. I know James is pleased as punch.

And James, my lovely boy who I treasure more than any gift - thank you so much for YOUR gift (Hairy Bikers "Perfect Pies" cook book) - the pastry I made today using their recipe is the best I have ever made.

Thanks lovely boys - reconvening at 7pm for Doctor Who - in the meantime I am going to reacquaint myself with the sofa and my bottle of fizzy pink wine.

Happy Christmas Blippers and thanks for all of your support and well wishes in what has been a difficult few weeks - I will raise a toast to you before I get sloshed :-)
xxxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.