The Third Day of Christmas

Well I never got my partridge or my turtle doves so I'm not holding out for my French Hens.

But I did remember that you had seen this Crib in bits and pieces and now it is getting close to being fully assembled. Not the Kings of course, because they are not meant to arrive until the Feast of Epiphany - Twelfth Night. In parts of Europe that's the time for presents. I often thought that if you travelled carefully you could get your presents on December 6th (St Nicholas' Day), Christmas Eve (e.g. Wigilia in Poland) , Christmas Day here, and January 6th (La Fête des Rois).

Which always makes the Church seem counter-cultural - trying to observe Advent while everyone is celebrating Christmas, celebrating Christmas when everyone has moved on to the New Year and the sales.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.