John R Smith

By chamberlainjohn

Heavy and tough....

This is my first proper camera! The Zenit-E SLR was made in the town of Krasnogorsk near Moscow in the late 1960's and I acquired this in 1971.

It travelled with me to a lot of countries in Europe, South and South-East Asia, the Pacific, Africa, the Caribbean.

It was built heavy and tough with a very simple mechanism on the principle that "what is not included, can't go wrong". I have no idea how many slides/transparencies I took. They are now stacked away in countless boxes - I have no idea where.

Today I started clearing out my study. It has - with deep sadness - to go. It can't carry on sitting in its case year in/year out never seeing the light of day. It may bring a very few pounds - but if I'm saving for a new DSLR a couple of fivers is better than nothing.

Ah me! The power of nostalgia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.