Blue Ouse

The King's Staith. How times have changed: now this is the mooring for the tourist cruises on the Ouse, but when the quay was built, it was a hanging offence to moor here without the King's permission. You can easily guess which King, because on the other side of the river is the Queen's Staith, and that means either uxuriousness (rare in British monarchs) or an obsession with his wives.

A few minutes before taking this blip I was snapped by a street photographer - he looked like he might have been Japanese. I hope it was a good shot and I come across it somewhere. And a few seconds after this blip, I was almost blown over by 'a sudden gust of wind'. I doubt that came from Japan, but it did remind me of my favourite Hokusai woodblock print and Jeff Wall's amazing homage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.