Lido Beach

By grazingllama

More Resolutions

3. Make Every Day Memorable

I am reading a great book called "Moonwalking With Einstein" by Joshua Foer. It is about how to memorize great quantities of information by associating what you want to remember with pictures, because we are naturally great at remembering scenes, but not facts, or numbers or abstract concepts. The solution is to associate pictures with what you want to remember. It also says that we only remember the parts of life that are interesting and can be stored with images. That's why travel is so memorable. Thus, this resolution: make each day associated with a picture and a title that will be remembered. And of course, it helps to take a picture and put it on blip.

Today, I went shopping at the mall to try and improve my wardrobe at low cost. I also tried to fix the brakes of my bike, which have become hazardous. This probably wouldn't have gotten my quick attention, except my son has been riding my bike while home from college and complaining each time. I am no bike mechanic, but I did fix the brakes and got Robert to true the wheel a bit and I cleaned some of the dirt. Therefore, this day shall be "The Day We Worked on My Bike!" Hence, this picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.