Sing Anything But The Blues

We were on our way home, still in Christmas afterglow, from time spent with extended family, when we took a small detour through my sweetheart's almamater/ college town. We had lunch at this tiny Coney Island that was bustling with an exuberance forty-eight years in the making, even though my guy doesn't remember it in all his five years of academic bliss.

This is the town in which we first met over seventeen years ago. It just went by in a blur. And now our kids are downing their Coney dogs and posing for pictures as we prepare to move onward, one day at a time.

As time goes by, it is increasingly easy to feel that the world is going to hell in a hand basket, to feel somehow jaded that things are not as they should be in a world that seems to be increasingly populated by morons, idiots, down right dangerous individuals, and ethically inept lost souls. But I continue to cling to a higher note that resonates in my mind, that even when I find myself in amazingly dark times, there still exists the great joy of of simply being. Especially when spending time with people I love.

So let this simple blip serve as a reminder to myself and anyone else who looks in: we can find fortune in just about anything, so I will conscientiously sing any note that isn't the blues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.