Diary Of A Sinner

By ArchieDog

New Home - Day Twenty Four

My name is Archie and I am a sinner.

The Nippy Wee Wifie came to collect me from Grandma's house in the morning.

I got another manic run round the foxy field and then we headed back home.
It was very strange because NWW went to bed and slept.
I got to stay in the bedroom with her though.

I was a very good boy and I didn't jump on the bed and try to guard it.
Oh no. I reckoned that it would be best if I behaved myself.

And I tried. Really I did.

Except I couldn't help myself.

I sneaked downstairs and sprinkled on a bag. I wasn't really needing to pee, it was just enough to scent mark it.
It wasn't even wet or anything but she noticed.
She gave me a long stare as she held the bag.

I know that stare. I've been stared at like that before. I was beaten when I've had that stare - not by NWW I might add.

I ran into a corner and cowered, snarling, fearful.

She came after me and I thought I was going to be smacked. I made myself as small as possible then rolled on my back.

She picked me up and I shook with terror. I wanted to snap but I didn't want to bite HER. Instead I just pressed myself close to her and trembled.

NWW decided to leave the "why we should not pee on bags" lesson for another day.

Instead, she just silently held me and waited till I stopped shaking. Then she quietly put me back on the floor and walked away as if nothing had happened, picked up the bag and put it in the bin.
I was unsure of what would happen next and I watched her suspiciously.
She called me to her and I crawled over, servile and apologetic.

When I arrived, cringing at her feet, she asked me to sit.
I sat immediately, relieved to be doing something to please her.
Oh boy was she pleased. It must have been the best sit in the world. She was full of happy praise.
The damp bag incident didn't come up again.

I learned something new today.

Other than the fact that NWW is not afraid of me - I worked that out from day one.

Today I learned that all these hideous cuddles that I've been getting were lessons too. Lessons in trust.

Today I trusted her not to beat me when all my instincts were telling me to defend myself.
Today she trusted me not to rip her face off while she held me close.

I think we're getting there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.