Family Dog

By Family_Dog

Reality Eve

Well, after almost exactly 9 months off work -
I am sitting on the sofa working out what to make for my sandwiches for my first day back to work tomorrow. How can this be?

I woke up with a heavy heart this morning - the realisation that this bubble is about to be popped. For all the time off I've had, it's been fraught and tense at times, hard work and heartbreaking in places. There's been good days and amazing days, days where my heart felt like it would explode with joy and love. And days where my head felt like it would explode with frustration - but here we are about to begin that thing they call 'real life'.

We had a tough day today - me and the kids - the rain, the lack of sleep, the teething, the need to spend an entire day tidying up their bedroom and getting it sorted. In a way, I'm glad it wasn't a wonderful day where everything went smoothly and life seemed utterly perfect. I'd be dreading going back tomorrow. As it is, I'm quite looking forward to going somewhere that nobody calls me 'Mummy'.

As it turned out, the day ended well - a couple of games of flipping frogs and a good bedtime story was enough to put us all in good moods before Arlo went off to bed.

Early nights all round, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.