Family Dog

By Family_Dog

Work it, Girlfriend.

So today I went to work. I hopped onto a bus and chose a seat at the back, beside a nice looking man who was reading a book. I didn't have to ask anybody to move so I could get my giant buggy in, I didn't have to nod and thank 800 people for moving their foot a fraction of a centimetre so that I didn't run over their ugly shoes and I didn't have to to do any fake gratitude faces to people so pained to be moving for me and my spawn that they resembled a cat about to barf up a hairball.

I hopped back off the bus and bumped into a friend - who I chatted to for 10 minutes and finished EVERY SINGLE SENTENCE without being interrupted by someone calling me Mummy once.

I nipped into the coffee shop and bought a hot beverage which I was able to drink without fear of spilling it over me due to having to push a buggy one handed down a busy street.

I zipped to my office, met my boss (who told me how delighted she was that I was back), had several adult conversations (none kinky - although that last sentence would lead you to think otherwise) and at LUNCHTIME (you know - 1pm, not 4pm) I popped out to the shops to buy a few things - 2 bras and a magazine to be precise - no nappies, wipes or packets of buttons. I went back to the office, helped solve a problem, started off a bit of event organisation, sent out some promotional material, created a couple of research surveys, surfed the net, listened to the radio and left the office at 5.30pm with a spring in my step.

I bumped into another friend and after completing MULTIPLE sentences arranged a wee wine catch up on Saturday (as you can see, the no booze month is going swimmingly).

I hopped onto a bus, read my book all the way down the road without repeating a single paragraph and arrived home to my husband who had a smile on his face and a bottle of Punk IPA for me. My son was playing merrily in the bath with his new bath toy and THIS lovely wee face was sitting on her bedroom floor playing with her cup stacking toy and waiting for a cuddle from her Mummy.

Work! I love you! Where you been all my life?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.