The high road

By Travellersjoy

Maidenhair Spleenwort

Cold, wet and blowing a gale, all day, so a bit of an emergency blip.
These Maidenhair Spleenwort ferns (Asplenium trichomanes ) are one of my favourite ferns, they are common in Western parts of Britain and Ireland on rocks and walls. Species like lichens, ferns, mosses, liverworts and higher plants, that can establish themselves on the harsh environments of rock faces and stone walls have always fascinated me, I even did my theses on this many years ago. the aspect of the wall will greatly influence what can grow but one can observe a succession of species over time as one would in a forest.
Blowing a gale outside but I'm cosy with a cat on my lap ready to watch the Frozen Plant, a gift from my brother, thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.