Purple Magpie

By PurpleMagpie

Just an amazing day x

I was on the In the Spotlight education day. It was a joint event between LABBS and Sweet Ads. It has been amazing. Amazing is the word I always use about barbershop singing because it is.

The main speaker was a phenomenal woman called Lori Lyford. She leads a champion chorus in America. She was awe-inspiring and so so so clever. Some of the things that she taught us will stay with me forever and have had an instant effect on my singing voice.

This is her coaching Lace City chorus under glass. Basically the chorus sings and she then tweaks the director and the chorus for a better sound.

I also got taught how to direct and learnt lots of stuff about vocal warm ups. My favourite bit was singing in the scratch chorus at the end and being directed and pulled into shape by Lori.

Anyway I got there at nine am this morning and left at ten to ten in the evening. That's a lot of singing and learning. Phenomenal though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.