The high road

By Travellersjoy

Ruins at Trakeel

Really grey murky day today! I have passed this narrow rocky peninsula many times before on my return journey from Bantry but I don't think I've really registered these ivy clad ruins until today. I checked on the O.S. historic maps and they were there prior to 1842, so well before the famine. There are many of these small ruined cottages on the peninsula. My neighbour recalls his father telling him of a family of thirteen living in a similar single roomed dwelling, life must have been very tough indeed
Worked on the land for a couple of hours today, doing a bit of selective weeding, in this case removing brambles, which tend to smother other plants, like foxgloves, mosses, pennywort and primroses. Today I noticed the daffodils appearing and yellow crocus in flower.
Delicious supper with freespiral, we had a card meeting this evening, to choose cards for our spring series.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.