Mo's picture story

By jettygirlx

Once a Southsider ......

A beautiful morning for a 'tour' of assorted places on the Southside of Glasgow, for assorted purposes.

A quick visit to Eastwood New Cemetery in Thornliebank to check its post-storm status. Masses of trees and branches down, blocking the paths, but the headstone for both my parents and my paternal grandmother was perfectly untouched, and its overhanging tree looked safe. A team of Council workers were trying hard to restore order ... six men, two vans, one small saw!.

On for a brisk circuit of the pond at Rouken Glen, a special place for me and this blip. More trees down, but again a major clear-up effort has been swiftly done.

Then on to The Burrell, where I left my camera, deliberately, in the car on this occasion. Outside the glass outer walls, numerous jagged or clean felled stumps. Buckets strategically placed for roof leaks. My two very long-term favourite exhibits are safe and well and on display so I'll return soon to photograph them. A pleasant coffee in their lovely cafe, just looking out over Pollock Estate and relishing the blue of the sky and the brilliance of the grass.

To round it off, a nip in to Silverburn and an opportunistic bargain buy from Monsoon. Lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.