kintgen's fotos

By kintgen

the amazing diversity of Oaks

At the risk of being a super nerd (perhaps it's too late for that?) I expanded my project from Saturday. Click here to see the prototype of true nerdiness.

any how from upper left to bottom right we have

Quercus macrocarpa (bur oak)
Quercus bicolor (swamp white oak) (I swear there are hybrids of Bur and Swamp white oak in people yards)
Quercus dentata
Quercus alba (white oak)
Quercus muehlenbergii (chinkapin oak)
Quercus robur (english oak)
Quercus acutissima (sawthooth oak)
Quercus fusiformis (Interior live Oak) a very cold hardy version of Southern Live oak
Quercus turbinella (Shrub live oak) native to Colorado
Quercus x pauciloba ((the love child of Quercus gambelii and Quercus turbinella).. an example of oaks williness to share genes) they are truly plastic
Quercus imbricaria (shingle oak)
Quercus rubra (red oak)
Quercus shumardii (Shumard's red oak)
Quercus palustris (pin oak)
Quercus buckleyi (Texas red oak)

the 3 leaves at the bottom I truly have no idea, I guess Q shumardii last week but they are rather different from the example of shumardii I picked up at DBG

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.