Today's Special

By Connections

Reflecting

Our stroll with Miss Annie at Lake Padden Park this morning yielded a number of photo possibilities. My choice for today's entry is unusual for me in terms of the moodiness of the image and the many adjustments I experimented with in iPhoto (2008) before ending up with this version.

Contrast it with this one, which was among the first scenes we encountered. I enhanced the image a bit in iPhoto, and had the ducks been in better focus, I might have used it as today's Blip, as I love the bright blue wake the ducks are making through what looks like watered silk.

Also in the runner-up category was an image that for me has a nightmare edge to it. The beguiling reflected white clouds and blue sky -- a momentary bright moment -- are countered by the dark, twisted branches, with only the solidity of the dock to anchor one to reality.

Today's image (in large here) might be considered a mid-point between those two runners-up. It's the same dock, but this photo shows simple seating and a view looking out, not down into the water. Enhancing it to bring out the blue sky and white clouds also brought out the frost on the dock more clearly, making it easier to avoid that potential danger.

This photo doesn't make me smile, as does the one of the ducks, nor does it make me uneasy, as does the one with the reflected extreme opposites. This one makes me think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.