Urban anatomy

I've been in the fan district housesitting for Kerry and indulging in urban life. Today was so warm it was like spring and I took the bike out for a ride through the boulevards exploring the nooks and crannies of the city.

Mostly I cycled through Hollywood Cemetery along the bluffs above the river - a city of the dead. Macabre but beautiful ornate faded headstones and statues decorate avenues through ancient sycamores, magnolias and holly trees that have stood, sometimes for longer than the oldest of the cemeteries members. Among many people, three American presidents are buried here.

From the bluffs the light gleamed off the James River and I watched Canada geese and gulls congregate on the rocks while people poured over the suspension bridges to Belle Isle to enjoy the fine weather. I made my way down and across following them and exploring the anatomy of the city from the bottom up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.