Part of my vacation was spending a week outside of Veneta, Oregon at the Country Fair, where my brother works. It's a sort of hippie fest in the woods, with lots of music and crafts, and a strong "fair family" of volunteers (referred to as staff) who make the whole thing run. The organization has only 6 employees and puts on a massive 3-day festival every year.

Unlike two years ago, I had the ability before the fair to cook at his house, which is a few steps off of the fair site. However, I did still have to cook my own food, which didn't feel much like vacation. Luckily, it didn't last long - once fair started, I ate delicious vendor food, including tofurky corndogs, vegan donuts, and the inimitable Tofu Tia burrito from Tofu Palace, celebrating their 30th year at the fair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.