Languedoc Daily

By BrodieB

Visigoths

Today we went to the Visigoth chapel and Notre Dame de Mougeres. Two "churches" and both very close to Roujan. They couldn't be further apart in terms of episcopal (and commercial) upkeep but both places exhale a sense of sanctuary and continuity.

The Visigoth chapel hasn't changed over the last 10 years Lizzie and I have been here. Someone continues to sweep the space with a such-used broom it now has a 30 degree angle of straws. It is SO not grand or churchly or pretentious. But it is still here. And because it is so obviously loved, and has been there for so, so many ridiculously long years (9th century) it has a presence, a redolence, a sense within its' stones.

The church and monastery at Mougeres has been around since at least 1660 odd and in its' 21st century transformation has become a thing of simple beauty I think.

If ever there was a place I needed to be quiet and think and be, this would be it.

I'm not sure that this is the best photo of either the Visigoth chapel or my sis. Individually either might be better. But for me, I couldn't ask more. I think they are exquisite in themselves and work well together.

But then I'm biased.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.