Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Wood Bird

On 28 September last year I described the discovery of a "wild place" quite near to where we live. And on 1 October, my Blipfoto contribution was a photograph of one of several paths through the woods.

I have been threatening ViolaMaths for some time that I would show her this place, and today we made a small foray there. Just along the path photographed in October, we came upon the information post in today's picture. It is topped by a carved wooden bird, or a Wood Bird as I have it in my title.

The information plaque below shows what flora and fauna you might find in a hedgerow. The site, owned by the Woodland Trust, is remarkably diverse, and there are panels such as the one in my photograph that explain what can be found in woodland, hedgerow, grassland, reedbed and pond environments. If you are interested in what each of these panels presents, there is a nice slide show of all five panels that can be accessed from the first one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.