A MIMent In Time

By justmim

"It grew arms and legs..."

Ridiculous photo I know! However, need to be doing work not constructing a photoshoot so we shall settle for the ridiculous :]

It seems to be a common theme of this placement that things grow arms and legs! Today I phoned a relative of somebody I'm working with on the ward (phoning relatives - always a scary thing, I'd rather phone a consultant!). I had expected that the phonecall would perhaps throw up a couple of different aspects to the case. However, I hadn't quite prepared myself for the half-hour long worry-filled conversation which suddenly placed massive question marks over the planned discharge date!

I had even made the call while the RA's were out visiting and my supervisor had popped along the ward - figuring that it wouldn't take too long and I would get it out of the way while the office was empty. (Although not as bad as skype, I do get a little self-conscious on the phone...!). However, my supervisor returning and overhearing the call turned out to be in my favour and what he heard earned me brownie points.

Tomorrow - more relatives, this time for a home assessment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.