Delightful

By Serap

Asprokremmos Dam

The Asprokremmos dam is just a couple of miles away from us and due to the huge amount of rain we've been having, it is now overflowing for the 1st time in 7 years. We drove up to have a look, and I was expecting to see a few other people there too, to see this unusual sight - but when we got there it was absolutely teeming with people! The road was blocked with the amount of cars, and a sort of carnival atmosphere had developed - I spotted 4 ice cream vans, 3 crepe vans, 2 candy floss & popcorn stands and a lovely stall selling nuts and traditional sweets, and playing folk music!

I can see why this is cause for celebration, in such a hot, dry country, and this line in today's paper made me laugh. "This has been one of the wettest Januaries of the last 30 years, with the rains particularly benefiting the Paphos district". Ha! Benefiting indeed. I just wish my wellies weren't still in my Dad's loft in Kent!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.