Delightful

By Serap

The Shepherdess and the Hunter

It was a bright sunny day today so we decided to go for a nice long walk in the hills just above where we live. It's so quiet in the area that it is rare to see anyone else, but we did see these two, and it was quite a dramatic scene too. We saw the lady first, she came tearing past in her truck, and we wondered where she was going so fast. As we walked further we could hear her shouting and then we saw her - she was a shepherdess and was noisily encouraging her flock to go up the hill. She used mainly her voice and a plastic carrier bag to scare them in the right direction, but she did also throw a couple of sticks! By this time we had seen the hunter just ahead of us, who had a pack of about 8 dogs. Hunting days are Sunday and Wednesday, so I'm not sure if he was hunting illegally or just exercising his dogs. The shepherdess, having successfully herded her flock over the hill, then came back towards us, stopped next to the hunter, got out of her truck and they commenced to have an almighty row - shouting and gesticulating at each other to the extent that I thought it would come to blows. "I'm scared!" I told Mark, and his reply was "me too. It's healthy!", so we turned on our heels and fled, but I took a quick snap first! Not speaking Greek, I'm not sure what the argument was about, but I'm guessing he scared her sheep in to going the wrong way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.