Lurking!

Had to go to Arran for a meeting. First, ferry dealyed as it had to wait for an ambulance, no great hardship there as the weather was rather nice. Just before we then sailed the usual saftey announcement came on except I think its been beefed up as it was urging us to stay calm! When these guys start ordering you to be calm thats when my suspicious nature kicks in! however Im sure they were just doing their job (though I did pay particular attention to the muster stations)
The other thing I noticed was a nice comfortable sitting area for dogs not like their other ferries that treats dog owners like the plaugue! and they even had a separate room away from adults for bratty kids! now as a regular ferry traveller I know how annoying these tree hugging parents with their free range kids can be! All in all very pleased with my crossing to the island of Arran
Thats however where the pleasure stops! Now if you are a B&B owner reading this ...look away now! Why oh why do hotels & B&Bs insist on loading beds with bloody cushions? The first thing I do is chuck them on the damn floor! Then why do they turn the heating off at 10pm? I don't go to bed early and last night cause it was so cold I did go to bed with an extra blanket I found and my fleece on top of my jammies! It was Baltic. Finally I had to endure the moans, groans and snores of the bloke in the room above me and boy was he a groaner! and finally who puts bloody laminate floors in bedrooms? Not only are they cold but flaming noisy too! Won't be going back there thats for sure and not being a morning person I did not appreciate having to do small talk over my poached egg to the proprietor and I must remember to ask for a room at the back as the traffic was still a bit noisy late into the night.
I much prefer the little old ladies that used to do B&B for some extra pocket money. They left you in peace at your breakfast and you slept in beds with multi couloured sheets and quilts, had family photos on their walls and had warm houses. Now its boring white bedding, white towels (its like sleeping inside a packet of crisps) mundane boring wall art, books on bloody birds and Monopoly. I hate Monopoly , I have numerical dyslexia and I cannot play Monopoly! Next time I hope to get back to my usual B&B in Whiting Bay once she finishes decorating and she better steer clear of cushions!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.