Purple Magpie

By PurpleMagpie

Trying so hard

My little boy is struggling with blending his sounds. Considering the huge history of dyslexia in mine and my hubby's family I really should not be surprised.

I thought he had escaped when he learnt his sounds so well but since January it has become blatantly clear that he cannot hear the sounds in the words. According to the Internet this is phonemic awareness.

To say I am gutted is an understatement. He has become very resistant to sounds and reading in general. Its heart-breaking as he loves books. Now they seem like the enemy.

I have been up and seen the teacher. Told them to take away the worksheet he has been stuck on for the last month. Ridiculous. Asked for a reading book with pictures only and I am not even dealing with high frequency words.

I am just concentrating on phonics at home and while he cannot read he can spell out words phonetically.

I bought a few things that I saw in a local shop these flash cards being one.

He has sat and photographed each page with the IPAD. I think I have reignited his want to learn. He spelt banjo for me today. How odd that if it was on a page he would not be able to read it.

So I did not take this shot but my clever little man did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.