My Day, My Life

By SixtySix66

Nineteen Eighty Four

Friday night.
Out and about.
At The Citrus Club, the longest running club in Edinburgh, 26 years and counting, so I believe.
And it's the first time I've ever been!

What strange events must've occurred to make me go out on a cold winters evening, rather than stay nice and warm indoors

Steve Strange, that's who.

He was there when New Romantics first drew breath.
If he didn't like the way you dressed, you didn't gain entry to The Blitz Club.

David Bowie asked him to appear in his Ashes to Ashes video and afterwards he had some chart success of his own while fronting Visage.

Well tonight was his first official gig in Scotland, ever!

He did come to Edinburgh once before, to celebrate his 40th birthday but that was a private party and sadly my invitation was lost in the post but I made it this time.

Never-mind, better late than never eh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.