Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Backside of My Pocket Heart

Yesterday's photo showed my pocket heart and several blippers comment about it, so I thought it should be flipped over to show the backside and the words "rec" and "play" and I thought it should be known that this is a "singing" heart (well, it could be a "talking" heart, but this one "sings").

I purchased it several years ago in the Hallmark greeting card store. At the time, I thought I'd give it to one of our grandkids for Valentine's Day; after I had it in my hand (and probably my pocket), I liked it too much to give it away.

When our aging pet, "Bob Dog," was dying and we knew he wouldn't be with us long, I would pet him and tell him that I would miss him for the rest of my life (and I do). At that time I heard Paul McCartney singing "Calico Skies" and his phrase "I will love you for the rest of my life" resonated with me, so I recorded 30 seconds into this little pocket heart of the end of McCartney's song which included those words and I now keep it with my Valentine books and treasures. So it is my pocket heart and it's sort of a poem! But here's a real poem:


Pocket Poem

If this comes creased and creased again and soiled
as if I'd opened it a thousand times
to see if what I'd written here was right,
it's all because I looked too long for you
to put it in your pocket. Midnight says
the little gifts of loneliness come wrapped
by nervous fingers. What I wanted this
to say was that I want to be so close
that when you find it, it is warm from me.

~~ by Ted Kooser, Poet Laureate of the United States 2004-2006

I'm thoroughly enjoying this Valentine season.
Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.