Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Valentine Shoes

TRACKS

Using a cobbler's shoe last
I found one summer at a yard sale,
and the heavy leather uppers
from cast-off boots, a jigsaw,
some wood, an awl and thread,
and a few evenings sitting alone
thinking of you, I have fashioned
a pair of red valentine shoes
with heart-shaped wooden heels.
Look for my tracks on your doorstep
where I stood with sore feet
through the evening, too timid to knock.

from Valentines: Poems
by Ted Kooser, former U.S. poet Laureate
winner of the Pulitzer Prize in Poetry


I am enjoying Kooser's book, the season of Valentines, and this heart-shaped Sunday. Three days ago on Thursday, February 3rd, I explained Kooser's book.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.