Plus ça change...

By SooB

Round robin

I know, another bird. It was either this or Mr B lying under the kitchen bench (adding a shelf).

Bitterly cold day today. Apart from a quick trip out to defrost the water pipe (I'm getting quite bored with that whole saga now, seeing as it means getting dressed much earlier than I like) and a trip to collect the post from our box at the end of the drive, I hid inside. Oh, and trips out to the bird table with supplies, but that doesn't count as with only a single layer of glazing between kitchen and terrace, we're practically heating the garden anyway.

Now, with a super-hot Mr B prawn curry inside me, I feel the evening will slip into a warm place: on the sofa wrapped in a blanket with the paraffin stove roaring away at my feet. A friend came home early from a Pyreneen holiday because it was minus 45 C with the wind chill. I'm told the cold will last all February. Even though the roads have still not been cleared (what are they doing? I saw dozens of snow ploughs and gritters when I was out on Monday, but no sign that they're doing anything) I think the kids will have to go to school tomorrow and Friday. For one, that means we don't have to heat the whole house while they're out, and for another thing Friday sees the start of our two week half term. I don't think they'll appreciate the holiday if they don't get to go back to school first!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.