Jack James

By JackJames

The Ottawa Dilemma

Today was crunch day with the Ottawa decision. Do I say in Edinburgh, or do I take a leap into the unknown and jump at the opportunity to study, fees paid, at Canada's capital city?

I feel I should explain my slight hesitance at accepting the offer. Sure, it'd be amazing, in every way - an new culture, climate, continent - but it wasn't a university that I originally applied for, and apart from having a good geography department, doesn't have the criteria I was looking for.

Criteria? Mountains!! Hills! As far as I can tell, Ottawa is a pretty flat place - on the Northern edge of the great plains, and below the Canadian shield - which doesn't have the dramatic vistas and geography of the other places I applied for. Although, that said, it has a very different sort of beauty. Makes me think of Cronan's arguments on wilderness, and where we place our values.

I have to give my decision in tomorrow.

In the evening I went over to Meg & Tom's house with Fay to watch the first Lord of the Rings. Good stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.