2+3+1+1

By tpd

simple

The choice of subject matter for today was easy. Less easy is writing something that won't make people retch (who says romance is dead, eh? A posting on Valentine's day featuring the word retch. Nice going.)

I'm not a fan of padded cards (with a cheesy poem, of course), bad bouquets of flowers (nothing against cut flowers at all... but do roses really need to be £40 a dozen?), teddy bears holding boxes of chocolates (why? I like chocolate but do I really need a cutesy stuffed toy to present the chocolate?) and the other assorted guff that displaces Easter for a few days in the shops across Britain*. Bah.

I've known +1/2 for longer than I've not known her; we've had our ups and downs of course and that shared life is a large part of what 'us' is. We're both guilty of occasionally taking the other for granted, for being insensitive, selfish, the list goes on. We're imperfect in many ways**. But that's the beauty of it.

When I look at +1/2 I see no difference between the person now and from 10, 15, 20 years ago, the sparkle in the eyes, the laugh, the smile. And I'm not planning on missing the next 10, 20, 30 years.

+1/2: x

* packets of lovehearts are an exception
** +1/2 may feel that the imperfections lie mainly on my side

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.