16/29thu toys

Toys. That ought to be easy, I thought! Then I realised I couldn't face taking photographs of toys without Ben in the picture. And to be quite honest there's only one toy that Charley actually plays with. (Which is quite cute, to be honest...)

These are some of my toys. I love painting. Because I haven't had a Benjamin running around, demanding playing with or cuddling or just being on general damage limitation duty, I've had chance to paint today!! I've only painted a box for his toy cars to live in on his new shelves, and painted over the splotches of paint on our living room wall to see if we could live with a slightly different colour scheme (this is for when we finally get around to decorating the living room - pretty low down on the priority list at the moment!). But it's been pretty therapeutic to paint on my own terms rather than Ben's.

In other news I had to head out to the surgery today for Charley's injections. Waited over 20 minutes to be called in: "Benjamin E...?" "Oh, that should be Charley." "Oh ok..." to find out that actually the appointment really was for Ben and not Charley oops!! They did laugh when I said he was 250 miles away in Manchester :D So the lucky pair have both got their injections next week instead. I was just so completely not expecting a summons for Ben to have injections that it didn't even occur to me to check the name on the form!! And that was even despite checking and double checking the dates because I'd had two summons with the dates only a week apart. What a dunce :) At least we had a laugh about it!

Our tumbledrier has also been fixed finally today. It couldn't have broken at a worse time, when we were all full of cold and then the novovirus. I called the shop again today and finally got hold of someone, and when my promised call-back hadn't happened by 5.30pm I called again and the poor engineer answered the phone bless him - he'd only just got back into the shop and sounded a bit harassed! Anyway he promised he'd be round within the hour and so he was. I apologised for nagging as he was on his way out after fitting the new belt and at least that got a smile out of him :)

Amazingly we've not really taken advantage of Ben being away by tidying up. We could have done, and enjoyed at least one day of not tripping over toys but to be honest I was missing Ben enough as it was so I've done a little bit of re-distributing but little else. Steve's fixed the leaves back up over his bed, and hopefully when Charley wakes up next I'll get a chance to stick some glow-in-the-dark stars on the ceiling in there. Mum and Ben are on their way back, I can't wait to see my boy again! I have to confess it's been really lovely not having to get up and drink a pint of coffee just to elevate my consciousness to the same speed as Ben's (Steve's analogy!) but I have really missed Ben's boinging.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.