Pinpoint

Headed into East Yorkshire today for a visit to my folks, first time back for a couple of years, and the first time on the train for a good few years. Summat quite magical about that run into Hull along the Humber, especially when That Big Bridge comes into view.

I don't normally pinpoint locations of these photographs but today I'm going to make an exception. This is the footbridge across Boothferry Road at the top of Anlaby Park Road North. It's about 5 minutes from my parent's house and it's one that I've been under or over on many occasions. It spans what is one of the main roads heading out of the city, leading out to the M62 motorway, so basically every time I've left Hull I've gone under it, whether it be when I used to go south (to Sheffield) or now when I go north (to Edinburgh). It's also one that me and my mates used to cross all the time when we went out on bike rides as schoolkids, quite often to the Humber Bridge where it always felt incredibly exciting and liberating to ride over to The South Bank for all of ten minutes before realising there was very little of interest there and returning home.

I was actually quite surprised just how strange it felt to be around and up on that bridge taking pictures, it's just an old concrete bridge after all. Today though it felt like something more symbolic and really quite moving. It was an odd experience, it really was.

Best have a bit of music, summat from the mid 80s would be highly appropriate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.