Mike's area

By mikeprice

Beauty, speed, grace, power!

Another busy day - finishing off witha trip to the National Railway Museum. Lots of images but my favorite was this. I have never seen Mallard in the 'flesh' (steel??) before but I remember that she was one of the engines that I had on my first railway set!

I also found out that she was built to reduce the time to get from London to Newcastle to under 4 hours. There were many diesel engine in Europe at the time and that was the obvious choice for the job - BUT the guy tasked with doing it couldn't find and diesle designs that could do it so he had to design a whole new steam engine instead!!

The result was the fastest steam engine ever!

Next task is to find out when I can see her moving!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.