a little bit of rhubarb

By Puggle

Skyscraper gothic

Grace Hotel, Sydney. Constructed in 1928-1930, it's considered a fine example of commercial skyscraper gothic architecture. It's also unusual structurally, but I won't bore you with the details - I just think it's a great building.

During World War II the Grace was used as the American headquarters in Sydney (General Douglas Macarthur made himself quite at home by all accounts).

Underneath the hotel is a tunnel that connect into an underground network system, with one tunnel leading to Circular Quay. Not sure if this is a reason why the Americans chose this building or not??? And no, I haven't met anybody who's been down these tunnels so I can't personally confirm their existence!

(Don't know why the image is showing sideways...something else I have to learn in blipland I guess)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.