michigan man

By outdoorguy

Rosie

It just took me about 2 hours to look through my pictures of the day. I didn't quite reach my daily record, but I did take 1362 shots. WHEW!!!

We picked up my sister-n-law and my niece in Tampa at 8:3o this morning. My wife and her sister have the unenviable task of going through their mothers things. She passed away maybe 6 weeks ago. Not much fun, so they let me take off for a few hours.

1300+ shots, and I only went to 2 spots. At the boat launch last year...I knew there was a blue herons nest. This year...there are 2!! The first is really high...probably 30-40 yards up. The second you can hardly see. I got some nice shots of the first nest. I was getting some shots of the 2 chicks in the nest, and one of them ventured out onto a shaky branch, and then he just flew off. Scary. I waited close to 2 hours for the parents to come back, but they never showed. Neglectful?

My second spot is a small pond near the Intercoastal Waterway. Cormorants, egrets, pelicans, wood storks, blue herons, and this lovely weird-looking bird.

It is a Roseate Spoonbill. I loved the pictures of the heron chicks, but I rarely get to see spoonbills, so I had to blip her. She is pretty in pink.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.