michigan man

By outdoorguy

Bug Eater

Seems good not to be driving in my van. The morning started out at about 55 degress, but now it is 75 and sunny. I wouldn't mind if it never got any higher.

I headed toward one of my favorite birding spots while my wife got ready to face the day. It is a small fishing village called Cortez, Florida.

Just before I came south...I read the book...The Perfect Storm. I had already seen the movie. The story is based in Massachusetts, but several times in the book...the towns of Cortez and Bradenton Beach are mentioned, and specifically, the A.P. Bell fish company. That's where I go...right out on their docks...just like I know what I'm doing. Other than having on clean clothes, not smelling like bait, and having the camera around my neck...I fit right in.

The place is something to see. I've never seen so many men in white or yellow boots. Fishing boats in varying lengths, and varying stages of despair. Fishing "junk" everywhere. Motors, nets, winches, cranes, traps, and things I can't even guess at. Dead fish and other floaties give the area a ripeness that is hard to avoid. Fishing dogs faithfully follow their masters, and...given the chance...chase after the shorebirds.

I watched today as a big boat unloaded their catch of shrimp. These were not the kind you use for popcorn shrimp. HUGE! I couldn't get an angle for a good picture. I love to be around when the guys are loading up the boat for a month long fishing trip. Hard to believe 4-5 guys (or ladies) could eat that much. And, of course... ice, ice, and more ice, both to keep your food cold, and to preserve the catch of fish.

I had blue herons and pelicans, and egrets...but how many times do you get to look down the hatch of a seagull? Even at 1/800 of a second...the moving head was still in motion...eating up the small bugs. A feeding frenzy. Can't say it would be my idea of a Monday brunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.