Aye Spy

By MeaMo

It's gorse!

Another trip to the railway station today. This time to take younger daughter to catch the train to London. She has an interview there tomorrow.

Despite the rain and low mist, I drove home leisurely, by the scenic route. I was keeping a lookout for potential blips as of course I had my camera with me! I'm fairly new to blipworld and felt pleased that I'd remembered it. Suddenly, I spotted a heron standing close to the edge of a very wet field. I stopped the car and very very quietly, slid out and sidled along to get a good shot. He must have caught the movement out of the corner of his beady eye, as he lifted up his wings and flapped off to a different part of the field. In fact, I tried a zoom shot which caught him but it wasn't all that great.

It was then I realised that I was parked right beside an enormous gorse bush which had masses of buds and some flowers already open. I've retained a healthy respect for gorse bushes since I rolled down a steep hill and landed in one at the age of nine.

Notwithstanding, I decided to try out the macro setting and capture a bit of gorse and its buds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.