Live, love, laugh

By Rianka

First Chinese Meal

After 3 hours I could board my flight to Beijing. Because of a problem with the hand baggage and spaces I could take a seat somewhere else in the plane, were it was less crowded. So I still had a seat next to the window, but the two seats next to me were empty.
Which was really convened because it was almost 4 o'clock and I was quite tired. So I kicked of my shoes, but on a blanket and lay down for a rest. Just as everyone else in the airplane. I guess I have slept for about four hours. So not very bad. I had breakfast en lunch in the airplane, which were both very good.
While leaving the airplane after a 6 hour trip a girl started talking to me, asking me if I were Dutch. So was she. So on Beijing Airport I still had the chance to speak a little Dutch to someone. She was very nice and we went through the customs together and picked up our suitcases.
At the airport I got picked up by a party of 5 people. My contact person from AIESEC and my buddy from AIESEC ran a little late, so they also sent the teacher from my new work and my Japanese co-worker with a driver to the airport. At first I didn't see them, but then we walked by again and saw my name on a piece of paper. They immediately welcomed me and helped me to buy a Chinese SIMcard for my phone. They even helped the other Dutch girl, who had to go to the university.
We went from the airport strait to the school. There I got introduced to the headmaster. After this we went to the apartment where I will be staying the next two months. The room is very small with a double bed that I have to share. But only for one night. Tomorrow they are going to put a bunk bed (stapelbed) in. So we will have more room and a little bit more privacy.
After putting my suitcase in the room we went out again for dinner. Joanna (my AIESEC contact), Monica (my AIESEC buddy), Kaho (Japanse co-worker&roommate) and me, at a little restaurant just around the corner. It was the cuisine from Joanna's hometown. So she was very excited. In the picture you can see the Noodle/soup I had, which was really great, but very hard to eat with the chopsticks. And some eggs. They tasted very nice, although they look like they are rotten :P
I was a nice meal. And very cheap as well. Only 1,80 euro. And I even ordered the most expense thing on the menu :P
After this we went to the supermarket because I wanted to get at least some water and something to eat.
I was a nice walk. Joanna en Monica walked us home and then took the subway back to the university.
Kaho showed me how to use the internet here. The WiFi has only a limited range , so I am sitting on a chair near the tv.. else it doesn't work.
I am still finding space to put my suitcase and all of my stuff. I thinks I am quite happy that I brought a lot of stuff, because I don't know if I have time to go shopping. Or if I want to make time.
Tomorrow I have to get up at 6.30 and get to the school.
Saterday I want to go to the citycentre and just experience Beijing.
On Sunday there will be a kind of welcoming party from AIESEC.
So my weekend is already quite full.

Ow, and for all the people that are following me here.. I haven't found a way yet to go on Facebook. Maybe I will, but for now you can reach me on msn/skype/hyves

Love, R

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.