My Magic Kingdom

By HRHCinderella

Still Life

These are my collection of walking sticks which stand in the entrance hall. The afternoon sun was peeping through the glass and they looked so alive!

The first walking stick I bought on the way home from a holiday in the game reserve. We stayed at Ingwe Lodge and on the way home stopped at a roadside market. I found a walking stick with a leopard's head for the handle. (Ingwe means leopard).
The next one I got was from a man who sometimes parked his bakkie at a busy corner near the dam. Its handle is the tusk from a warthog. I bought the tusk walking stick before we moved out to the dam. He would bring his border collie and they would spend their day next to the road with all his crafts on display.
The African lady was bought for me by my father-in-law at a local craft market called Chameleon Village. She is actually my favourite one as she is perfectly made and has a smooth finish with a very comfortable handle.
The light coloured, intricately carved walking stick has a fish handle and many beautiful designs along its length including the fishermen you can see in my Blip. I can't remember anymore where I got this one from.
I hope to grow my collection and find some more unusual treasures in future.

It was wonderful to relax at home today. No time deadlines, just a day to do nothing.

I finished the day by taking the dogs for a walk. Not with the walking sticks though, they are just for decoration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.