Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

IN PRINT

Went to the match this afternoon. Newcastle United V Wolves. We were 1 - 0 up after 6 mins. Then 2 - 0 up after 18 mins - a cracking goal from my favourite player Jonas Gutierrez. All went wrong in the second half and the match ended in a 2 - 2 draw. The only consolation for the 52,000 fans in the Stadium was when they heard the announcement that Sunderland had lost 4 - 0. Hopefully next Sunday Newcastle will also be able to beat our local rivals.

After the match I had a wander round town. Went into Fenwicks ( Department store ) and passed by the newsstand. A magazine caught my eye - North East Life and I spotted on the cover " Revealing the secrets of Whickham". I vaguely remembered an e mail I had received a few weeks ago from Great British Life asking me if they could use a couple of my photos for a feature they were dong on Whickham in one of their magazines. I had previously uploaded a few photos of Whickham , where I live, to The Great British Life website. So when I saw this magazine I wondered if my photos would be in it. I flipped through the pages till I got to the feature on Whickham and found that my 2 photos were indeed there. They even have my name underneath them. I was well chuffed. The article is spread over 4 pages and there are numerous small photos and 2 large ones. The large ones are mine. Chuffed again! So of course I bought a copy.

One of the photos they used is of The Council Offices - shown in my blip - and the one on another page is of St Mary's Church.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.